UNESCO Sites In Australia


UNESCO Sites in Australia
UNESCO Sites in Australia
unesco world heritage sites

Australia UNESCO commitment has registered 20 sites on the World Heritage list and 3 sites on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which there are superb places that stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage around the world. Due to my personal interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I put together the UNESCO list in Australia and the corresponding map.

Australia UNESCO list

  1. Australian Convict Sites
  2. Budj Bim Cultural Landscape
  3. Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens
  4. Sydney Opera House
  5. Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Riversleigh / Naracoorte)
  6. Fraser Island
  7. Gondwana Rainforests of Australia
  8. Great Barrier Reef
  9. Greater Blue Mountains Area
  10. Heard and McDonald Islands
  11. Lord Howe Island Group
  12. Macquarie Island
  13. Ningaloo Coast
  14. Purnululu National Park
  15. Shark Bay, Western Australia
  16. Wet Tropics of Queensland
  17. Kakadu National Park
  18. Tasmanian Wilderness
  19. Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
  20. Willandra Lakes Region

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Australia are protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Australia UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in Australia.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. Great Sandy World Heritage Area
  2. The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage Area
  3. Murujuga Cultural Landscape


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top